|corfu for cruise passengers
information and resources for corfu shore trips
top ten places to see
top ten things to do
top ten items to buy
eating & drinking
Panayiopoula is the local name for the Orthodox Metochi devoted to the Virgin Mother, the Odigitria. (A metochi is a monastic dependency and in this case of the Holy Monastery Platytera, the famous male monastery on the edge of Old Town Corfu.)
Just up from the Town Hall Square in a short, unusually quiet street, is the chapel and a two storied adjoining building, with a cell and reception area on each floor. It is painted in the favourite Ionian colour of soft Mediterranean pink. An outside staircase leads to the bell tower, flower pots on each step. It is protected on all sides by tall Venetian houses.
The Odigtria icon, a particularly loved presentation of the Panayia and cherished for its special grace, is the essence of the church. It stands in a separate iconostasi, is silver clad and strung with rows of silver and gold offerings. Probably it dates from the time the church was built, which according to the rich Corfu Archives we estimate to be before 1650.
Originally the church was in private ownership until a monk from the Platytera Monastery bought the chapel and cells around 1900 and donated it to his monastery. The church stood unharmed all the years and became known for two main events – the Epitaph procession each Holy Friday and the Odigitria festival on 23 August. These two popular occasions are perfected by a group of locals and neighbours who assist and contribute, as their goal is to preserve Corfu customs.
The chapel is open mornings and afternoons. Slowly the church is being beautified after years of being closed and every contribution is welcome.
For more information visit
website designed and maintained by Truetype Web Solutions